Konungskär
The tenants of the Korpoström manor settled on Konungskär starting in 1820. Life was sparse and harsh. Fishing for vendace kept the family alive. They had a small potato field, a cow, and a sheep or two for their own needs. For winter fodder for the animals, everything that could be gathered from the island was collected, from tree leaves to lichen. The entrails and heads of the vendace were dried.
The first tenant of Konungskär was Mathias Sundström and his wife Anna Christina Johansdotter. In 1826, they moved away from the island, and their eldest daughter Gustava became the tenant of Konungskär at the age of 24. Gustava married Mathias Mattson (from Brunskär, Norrgård) in 1829, but he drowned a couple of years later at the age of 31. At that time, the family had a 1.5 year old child. Gustava remarried in 1834 to Henrik Herman Fagerström (from Rumar), and they had two children.
Of all the tenants of Konungskär, Adolf Teodor Blomqvist and his wife Maria Serafina Mattsson had the most children, a total of 9, born between 1897 and 1910. The last widow of a tenant moved away from Konungskär in 1916, and the place fell silent. Until Major Otto Wahlroos rented the site and built a hunting lodge there, utilizing the logs from the old cottage. Notably, Marshal Mannerheim visited the hunting lodge as a guest.
The hunting lodge still exists today. It was later bequeathed to the Red Cross, which opened its doors to travelers in the archipelago. In 1976, the Red Cross sold the site to the Finnish Forest Administration, and it was incorporated into the Archipelago Sea National Park. The hunting lodge now serves as a shelter. In the summer, sheep graze on the beautiful meadow of Konungskär and also wander onto the neighboring island of Birskär. A walking bridge connects the two islands.
The tenants of the Korpoström manor settled on Konungskär starting in 1820. Life was sparse and harsh. Fishing for vendace kept the family alive. They had a small potato field, a cow, and a sheep or two for their own needs. For winter fodder for the animals, everything that could be gathered from the island was collected, from tree leaves to lichen. The entrails and heads of the vendace were dried.
The first tenant of Konungskär was Mathias Sundström and his wife Anna Christina Johansdotter. In 1826, they moved away from the island, and their eldest daughter Gustava became the tenant of Konungskär at the age of 24. Gustava married Mathias Mattson (from Brunskär, Norrgård) in 1829, but he drowned a couple of years later at the age of 31. At that time, the family had a 1.5 year old child. Gustava remarried in 1834 to Henrik Herman Fagerström (from Rumar), and they had two children.
Of all the tenants of Konungskär, Adolf Teodor Blomqvist and his wife Maria Serafina Mattsson had the most children, a total of 9, born between 1897 and 1910. The last widow of a tenant moved away from Konungskär in 1916, and the place fell silent. Until Major Otto Wahlroos rented the site and built a hunting lodge there, utilizing the logs from the old cottage. Notably, Marshal Mannerheim visited the hunting lodge as a guest.
The hunting lodge still exists today. It was later bequeathed to the Red Cross, which opened its doors to travelers in the archipelago. In 1976, the Red Cross sold the site to the Finnish Forest Administration, and it was incorporated into the Archipelago Sea National Park. The hunting lodge now serves as a shelter. In the summer, sheep graze on the beautiful meadow of Konungskär and also wander onto the neighboring island of Birskär. A walking bridge connects the two islands.
The tenants of the Korpoström manor settled on Konungskär starting in 1820. Life was sparse and harsh. Fishing for vendace kept the family alive. They had a small potato field, a cow, and a sheep or two for their own needs. For winter fodder for the animals, everything that could be gathered from the island was collected, from tree leaves to lichen. The entrails and heads of the vendace were dried.
The first tenant of Konungskär was Mathias Sundström and his wife Anna Christina Johansdotter. In 1826, they moved away from the island, and their eldest daughter Gustava became the tenant of Konungskär at the age of 24. Gustava married Mathias Mattson (from Brunskär, Norrgård) in 1829, but he drowned a couple of years later at the age of 31. At that time, the family had a 1.5 year old child. Gustava remarried in 1834 to Henrik Herman Fagerström (from Rumar), and they had two children.
Of all the tenants of Konungskär, Adolf Teodor Blomqvist and his wife Maria Serafina Mattsson had the most children, a total of 9, born between 1897 and 1910. The last widow of a tenant moved away from Konungskär in 1916, and the place fell silent. Until Major Otto Wahlroos rented the site and built a hunting lodge there, utilizing the logs from the old cottage. Notably, Marshal Mannerheim visited the hunting lodge as a guest.
The hunting lodge still exists today. It was later bequeathed to the Red Cross, which opened its doors to travelers in the archipelago. In 1976, the Red Cross sold the site to the Finnish Forest Administration, and it was incorporated into the Archipelago Sea National Park. The hunting lodge now serves as a shelter. In the summer, sheep graze on the beautiful meadow of Konungskär and also wander onto the neighboring island of Birskär. A walking bridge connects the two islands.